Week two in Oaxaca

During our first week in Oaxaca, we moved into a filthy house that had been severely misrepresented in craigslist. Initially, we tried to solve the problem with bleach and other solvents, but when Rad found me lying in bed with insects crawling all over my body, we made plans to flee and seek other lodging. In the new apartment I contracted some variety of food poisoning complete with projectile vomiting and explosive diarrhea. Rosita, one of the women who manages our apartment building, has years of experience dealing with ailing gringos. She made me some sort of miracle tea and sent Rad to the pharmacy for the wonder drugs Loperamida and Hioscina. My condition quickly improved and I have been able to snap a few photos from around town and a trip to the Sierra Norte mountains. I have been on this tour before, but it never gets old. Plus, I’m really into riding in a big van full of people I have never met and I usually get some good photos.

 

 

drinking cafe de olla at Itanoní
drinking cafe de olla at Itanoní

_DSC0009

a fraction of el Arbol de Tule
a fraction of el Arbol de Tule
another segment of the tree
another segment of the tree

_DSC0035

no pets

_DSC0047

calcite falls at Hierve el Agua
calcite falls at Hierve el Agua
No sunblock. Wear a bathing suit.
No sunblock. Wear a bathing suit.
One thought on “Week two in Oaxaca

Leave a Reply

